Brain In A Jar is the brainchild (sorry) of Gary Gibson, a pro author of science fiction who, just before New Year’s Eve in 2011, had a minor epiphany when he realised he knew a number of writers with work that had been ‘resting’ for quite a while. ‘Resting’ meaning, some of their work was no longer in print. So he set out to do something about it, in this new era of ebook publishing. The result is Brain in a Jar Books. BIAJ is going to be publishing a number of ebooks by various authors – most Scottish – throughout 2012. Authors include: Mike Cobley, Angus McAllister, Duncan Lunan and Fergus Bannon. The vast majority of work being published by BIAJ has already appeared elsewhere, either in original hardback or paperback editions, or in various pro sf markets such as Asimov’s and Fantasy and SF.

Here’s a quick look at what you can expect to be seeing coming from Brain In A Jar throughout the first half of 2012 (specific release dates of each will be announced closer to the time):This page is more or less a placeholder for the moment, until I have the time to build something a little more dedicated than what you see here. In the meantime, you can find out more about me at http://www.whitescreenofdespair.blogspot.com.

The first BIAJ publication is Iron Mosaic, by Mike Cobley – a collection of short fiction by the author of the Shadowkings and Humanity’s Fire trilogies, currently still available in hardcopy format by Immanion Press (who kindly granted us permission to release this ebook edition). The book was first published in the mid-2000s, before Mike won the contract to write the Humanity’s Fire trilogy. For the moment, the ebook of Iron Mosaic will be available only in the UK,but it’s available at the special introductory price of £2.00.

Forthcoming later this year is The Cyber Puppets, by Angus McAllister. Angus is the author of (amongst others) The superb Krugg Syndrome and The Canongate Strangler. The Cyber Puppets was originally scheduled to be published by Big Engine several years back – only for that company to go out of business just two weeks before the book was due to be released.

Also forthcoming later this year is With Time Comes Concorde, and other stories, by Duncan Lunan. Duncan is the author of non-fiction works such as Man and the Planets, a runaway non-fiction bestseller when it was first published in the 70s. Since then, he’s published fiction as well as a huge number of non-fiction articles for leading US sf publications such as Analog and IASFM. With Time Comes Concorde will collect four linked novellas first published in Analog and IASFM.

Finally, there’s going to be a collection of short stories and essays by Fergus Bannon, whose novel Judgement has already been selling phenomenally well on Amazon. We can’t tell you how pleased we are to see it getting the attention it deserves. If you want some indication of the quality of work we’re going to be bringing to you, you could do a lot worse than check it out. Judgement is also coming into the Brain In A Jar fold.

And that’s just the start, really. The books will all be priced between 99 pence and £4.99. Stay tuned for more news on further publications!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s